Opus 216

Variations on “Jesu, Dulcia Memoria” (2000)

for Organ

  • (Slow)
  • (Very slow)
  • Passacaglia (Moderate)
  • (Exuberant)

Duration: 6 min.

Dedication: for Murray Forbes Somerville

Publisher: Wayne Leupold Editions, Inc. in "Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 2"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Variations on “Jesu, Dulcis Memoria” (2000) was written for and is dedicated to Murray Forbes Somerville. The work is a set of four variations on the traditional plainchant. The opening variation presents the melody in a grand processional treatment. The second variation combines a harmonized version of the melody with interrupting free “flutesongs.” (The musical material of these “flutesongs” is derived from the chant transformed by the compositional device of a magic square.) The final energetic variation presents a bravura finish and uses the plainsong n numerous guises. The work was designed to be suitable in both recital and worship settings on instruments ranging from medium to large.