Opus 555

Two Fragments (2004)

for Guitar Quartet

Carnegie Mellon Guitar Quartet

Duration: 4 min.

Dedication: for the Corona Guitar Kvartet

Commission: Commissioned by the Corona Guitar Kvartet

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Two Fragments (2004) for guitar quartet was commissioned by and is dedicated to the Corona Guitar Kvartet for their tour of the USA in 2004-05.

The work is cast in two very brief, aphoristic movements, each sharing the same material.  The first movement, Strata, layers the four guitars on top of each other in an aleatoric texture.  In, the second movement, Stars, the guitars pass and develop material in a spare and expansive fashion—with ringing harmonics representing twinkling stars.