Opus 62

Two for Lent (1997, rev. 1999)

for Organ

  • Ah, Holy Jesus – HERZLIEBSTER JESU (for Bruce and Alice Klanderman)
  • “What Wondrous Love” – WONDROUS LOVE (in memory of Frank E. Cooman)

Duration: 6 min.

Publisher: Wayne Leupold Editions, Inc. in "Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 5"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Two for Lent (1997, rev. 1999) consists of two preludes on familiar Lenten hymns. The music is contemplative and quiet in nature, useful either during Lent or as communion music in the rest of the church year. The first piece presents the tune HERZLIEBSTER JESU over a series of simple interlocking ostinato patterns. The second piece is an atmospheric prelude on WONDROUS LOVE.