Opus 1235

Two Elevations (2017)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

#1: Flemming Chr. Hansen, organ

#2: Flemming Chr. Hansen, organ

Download PDF

Duration: 10 min.

Dedication: for Flemming Chr. Hansen

Publisher: free download

Two Elevations (2017) for organ were written for and are dedicated to Flemming Chr. Hansen on the occasion of his 50th birthday.

The genre of the “elevation” began as organ music to accompany the moment of the priest’s ritual raising of the consecrated elements within the liturgy of the mass. However, like many genres originally connected to specific contexts, the elevation long moved beyond its initial use to develop its own life in concert and sacred music.

While nothing in them precludes their use in liturgical contexts, these two pieces are thus conceived within that broader context of the “elevation.” (Each is also a rather oblique reflection on various musical style elements of two composers with whose music I have worked extensively as a performer: German composer Andreas Willscher and Italian composer Carlotta Ferrari. Although there are no quoted themes or direct allusions, there are a various subtle references to their styles, re-imagined through my own.)

If these two elevations are played together on a concert, it is suggested that they be separated on the program. They may also be played individually for concert or church service.