Opus 149

Triptych (1999)

for Piano Duet (one piano, four hands)

  • Fanfare and Tuckets
  • Arioso
  • Dance

Haley Myles and Matthieu Bergheau, piano

Duration: 6.5 min.

Dedication: for Robert Blake

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Triptych (1999) for piano duet (one piano, four hands) is an early work and dedicated to the composer’s high school piano duet partner, Robert Blake. The three brief movements explore contrasting moods. “Fanfare and Tuckets” uses typical fanfare gestures. “Arioso” is a slow ostinato aria in which the unchanging ostinato is joined by small melodic patterns, often in tiny canons. “Dance” is fast and in mixed meter, loosely inspired by the Bohemian furiant, especially the examples in Dvo ák’s Slavonic Dances (a classic of the piano duet literature). The theme of the first movement returns in the coda.