Opus 1236

Triptych in honorem Gustav Willscher (2017)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

#1 (Silesian Prelude): Carson Cooman, organ

Duration: 10 min.

Dedication: for Andreas Willscher, in celebration of his “Troppauer Musiklexicon”

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp.

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Triptych in honorem Gustav Willscher (2017) is dedicated to Andreas Willscher in celebration of the writing of his Troppauer Musiklexicon.

Gustav Willscher (born 1882 in Meltsch bei Troppau/Sudentenschleisen and died 1937 in Vienna) was in his time a very successful poet, writer, and composer. In addition to his musical talents (he played several instruments, among others the piano and guitar), he also created a collection of drawings. He was the grandfather of composer and organist Andreas Willscher.

The outer movements, “Silesian Prelude” and “Troppauer Postlude,” refer to his cultural heritage, and each quote a musical theme by Gustav Willscher. The second movement, “Minuet,” refers obliquely to Vienna, the city in which Willscher died.