Opus 544

Thieves (2004)

Chamber Opera in One Act

Soloists (Mez, T or B, Bar) and Piano or Mixed Trio (Flute, Cello, Piano)

Libretto by Mark Schweizer

Emma Woo, mezzo-soprano; Micah John Walter, baritone; Andy Troska, tenor; Harvard University Choir; Edward Elwyn Jones, conductor

Elisabeth Eliassen, mezzo-soprano; Edward Thompson, baritone; Don Kelley, bass; Choir of Christ Episcopal Church, Alameda, California; Matthew F. Burt, conductor

Download PDF

Duration: 20 min.

Dedication: for Kevin and Nancy Cooman

Commission: Commissioned by St. James Music Press

Publisher: St. James Music Press

Contact the composer regarding perusal or performance materials.

Thieves (2004) is an opera in one act, conceived for performance in a church context and is especially effective during Holy Week. It is approximately 20 minutes in length. The music for the opera derives primarily from the hymn-like “chorale” which appears in various guises sung by the chorus throughout the work.

Thieves may be performed in either the solo piano version or the version for mixed trio. All singers/chorus members should work from the “piano/vocal score” at all times. If the trio version is used, it should be noted that the piano part is not the same as the solo piano version.

The part of Jesus can be sung by either a tenor or a bass. The score is indicated accordingly. A tenor should sing the part where written. A bass should sing it an octave lower. The chorus should be off to the side of the action.

The libretto may be viewed from the PDF link above.