Opus 1393

Suite in Three Movements (2021)

for Harpsichord

  • Concerto
  • Arioso
  • Sonata

Duration: 13 min.

Dedication: for Scott Hyslop

Commission: Commissioned by Scott Hyslop

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp.

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Suite in Three Movements (2021) for harpsichord was commissioned by Scott Hyslop. The three movements take their inspiration and forms from early models. They combine allusions to common practice harmony with later harmonic and rhythmic elements.

The first movement, Concerto, is in a bright, Italianate manner (not without a bit of humor). The animating contrast is between ripieno (ritornello) sections and filigree-driven solo episodes.

The second movement, Arioso, is a lyric aria in which the baroque-like principal material is integrated with more varied harmonic excursions.

The third movement, Sonata, is a vibrant binary movement in the manner of Domenico Scarlatti.