Opus 1429

Sorbian Prelude (2022)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 5 min.

Dedication: for Feliks Brojer

Commission: Commissioned by Felix Bräuer

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Three Sorbian Pieces"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sorbian Prelude (2022) was commissioned by Felix Bräuer (Feliks Brojer) for a series of concerts of Sorbian-themed music and to mark the bicentennial of the birth of Sorbian composer Korla Awgust Kocor (1822–1904). This prelude is based on “Rjana Łužica,” the Sorbian anthem, whose music was written by Kocor to a text by poet Handrij Zejler (1804–1872).