Opus 1234

Sonatina No. 4 (2017)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 11 min.

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp.

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonatina No. 4 (2017) for organ is dedicated to German organists Andreas Willscher (Hamburg), Hartmut Siebmanns (Pößneck), and Philip Hartmann (Ulm). The titles of the three movements reflect these German cities.

The first movement is a bright, festive march. The second movement is an atmospheric aria. A wide-ranging lyric melody unfolds over an ostinato accompaniment. In the third movement, the opening triple meter “fanfare” gesture is developed throughout alongside a march-like descending figure, referring back to the first movement.