Opus 1049

Sonatina No. 3 (2014)

for Organ (opt. pedal)

  • Ostinato
  • Dirge
  • Toccatina

Duration: 6.5 min.

Dedication: for Johan-Magnus Sjöberg

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Sonatinas Nos. 2 & 3"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonatina No. 3 (2014) is dedicated to Johan-Magnus Sjöberg. The opening movement is an ostinato (quasi-passacaglia) with a heavily syncopated theme. The second movement, Dirge, is quiet and expressive, with a rising scalar figure in the bass that increases in speed. The final movement is a dancing toccatina with a bit of a scherzando character.