Opus 1016

Sonatina No. 2 (2013)

for Organ (opt. pedal)

  • Toccata
  • Sharagan
  • Gigue

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 8 min.

Dedication: for Robby Behrman

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Sonatinas Nos. 2 & 3"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonatina No. 2 (2013) is dedicated to Robert Behrman. The opening toccata consists of bouncy and vibrant music surrounding a lyric chorale. The title of the second movement, Sharagan, refers to a style of monodic hymn in the Armenian Orthodox Church. The third movement is a gigue indebted to Buxtehude, though with a contemporary harmonic flavor.