Opus 1443

Sonata monotematica (2022)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 9 min.

Dedication: for Klaus Geitner

Premiere: Commissioned by Klaus Geitner for the 9th Münchner Orgelsommer

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp.

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonata monotematica (2022) was written for Klaus Geitner and the 9th Münchner Orgelsommer (Munich, Germany) in summer 2022, during which all concerts were based around the theme of “Krise — Wandel — Aufbruch” (Crisis — Change — Awakening).

This three-part thematic idea is represented across the three sections of this one-movement sonata. The opening gesture presents the basic material: a sequence of all 12 chromatic pitches. In the first section, the mood moves from the dramatic beginning to a quiet (but still disturbed) provisional “conclusion.” In the second section, the 12 pitch cycle is gradually transformed (in melodic fragments) into the hints of an almost sentimental melody. In the final joyous section, the material has become entirely triadic.