Opus 604

Sonata for Harpsichord (2004)

for Harpsichord

  • Processional
  • Arioso
  • Scherzo
  • Musette and Fanfare
  • Fantasy
  • Pastorale
  • Ostinato Aria
  • Dance
  • Spring Song
  • Recessional

Duration: 15 min.

Dedication: for Julia

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonata for Harpsichord (2004) was written for and is dedicated to composer, pianist, and harpsichordist Julia Scott Carey.

The sonata is conceived in ten short movements, each of a consistent character. A number of elements of musical material are shared throughout the movements. The work explores a variety of timbres and attributes of the harpsichord’s sound.

A two-manual instrument with a variety of stops is ideal, but the registrations shown can be adapted to most any smaller instrument as needed.