Opus 488

Sonata for English Horn and Piano (2003)

for English Horn and Piano

Carol Hall, English horn; Fenton Groden, piano

Duration: 9 min.

Dedication: for Toni Marie Marchioni

Commission: Commissioned by the Broeker Fund for New Music

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Sonata for English Horn and Piano (2003) was commissioned by the Broeker Fund for New Music and is dedicated to Toni Marie Marchioni.

The first movement, Invocations, is declamatory and improvisatory in character. It is based on fragments of material which are revealed fully in the second and third movements. The material is presented in hints, juxtapositions, and transformations.

The second movement, Canto, is lyrical and flowing, presenting a long-breathed melody which is developed and combined with contrasting material in a pulsing middle section. The opening material returns again to conclude the movement.

The third movement, Toccata, is energetic and bounding. Various overlapping rhythmic and melodic patterns are explored as the movement presses forward.