Opus 811

Shawkemo Dreaming (2009)

for String Orchestra

Duration: 5.25 min.

Dedication: for Robert Moran

Commission: Commissioned for the Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Shawkemo Dreaming (2009) for string orchestra is dedicated to Robert Moran. The title refers to Shawkemo, a region of Nantucket Island, Massachusetts. This work is one of a variety of pieces deeply connected to the landscape of Nantucket.

Overlooking the harbor and conservation preserves, Shawkemo imparts a sense of peace, amidst gentle wind and sky. The work begins with bell-like tolling through which a freely lyrical melody is unfolded. This melodic material is developed, building to small climaxes, before the work settles into a reposed conclusion.