Opus 845

Ricercare piccola sopra un nome (2009)

for Harpsichord (or Other Keyboard)

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 3 min.

Dedication: for Peter Sykes

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Ricercare piccola sopra un nome (2009) for harpsichord was written and is dedicated to Peter Sykes. As the title indicates, the work is based “upon a name,” specifically the letters of Sykes’s first and last name, which form the first of the three principal head motives of the work. 

The brief ricercare develops contrapuntally in three parts, interrupted just before the end by a free section marked Molto fantastico.