Opus 1440

Preludio e fuga in ascolto (2022)

for Organ

Carson Cooman, organ

Duration: 4 min.

Dedication: for Judith Bingham at 70

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Three Preludes and Fugues"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Preface from publication Three Preludes and Fugues:

This collection contains three preludes and fugues (each with an Italian title). They were conceived and written as three independent pieces,  although they can also be played as group of three or as any subset of two. However, each prelude and fugue is an inviolate entity. No section of any of the pieces should be played on its own.

As with my previous preludes and fugues for organ, Nine Preludes and Fugues (2011/13; publ. Leupold Editions in Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 10), I have no interest in duplicating entirely traditional approaches to this hoary form. However, in contrast to those nine, the three pieces in this collection are unified by their even less traditional approach to the genre and their extreme formal concision.

The pieces should be played in a generally straightforward manner, to simply let the at times enigmatic character of the music speak for itself.

Published along with:

Preludio e fuga delfica
Preludio e fuga in modo frigio