Opus 1021

Prelude and Fugue No. 2 (2013)

for Organ

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 5.25 min.

Dedication: for Lydia and Emily Simmons

Commission: Commissioned by Erik and Charissa Simmons

Publisher: Wayne Leupold Editions, Inc. in "Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 10"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Prelude and Fugue No. 2 (2013) was commissioned by Erik and Charissa Simmons and is dedicated to their daughters, Lydia and Emily. Its musical material is derived from their names. The mysterious prelude uses LYDIA as an ostinato theme, accompanying a continually changing melody in the (mostly) Lydian mode. The fugue uses EMILY as its subject, treated in a gentle, dancing two-voice texture in the manuals, over slower statements of the subject in the pedals.