Opus 661

Photoscapes (2005)

for Organ and Stereo Tape

Duration: 6.75 min.

Dedication: for Frederick Frahm

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Photoscapes (2005) for organ and tape is dedicated to Frederick Frahm.

The work is a one-movement exploration of three nature soundscapes—combining the organ’s sounds in a free dialogue with the tape.  The three soundscapes are: 1) an outdoor porch on a windy day, filled with different windchimes; 2) a secluded lake with loons; 3) an intense thicket filled with insect activity.

Each of these three soundscapes is explored in turn.  In each soundscape, a solo saxophone appears, playing excerpts from the composition Beckoning Summer (2004).  The first two times, the saxophone is sonically “crushed”, leading directly into the next soundscape.  The final time, however, the saxophone finishes its music uninhibited—bringing about a layering of all three soundscapes together.