Opus 1528

Partita on “Herzliebster Jesu” (2023)

for Organ (opt. pedal)

Carson Cooman, organ

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 7.5 min.

Dedication: for Ralph Looij

Publisher: SMP Press

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Partita on “Herzliebster Jesu” (2023) is dedicated to Ralph Looij. It is a set of five variations on Johann Crüger’s classic Lenten/Passiontide hymn, appearing in English usually with the text “Ah, Holy Jesus, how hast thou offended.” In the typical manner, the variations present contrasting approaches to the chorale melody: the first, in three voices with a moving bass; the second, in three part retrograde canon; the third, in loose canon in two modes and speeds simultaneously; the fourth, under an ostinato rhythm; and the fifth, in chorale rhythm with a new harmonization.