Opus 92

Paradoxes: Sonata for Cello and Piano (1998)

for Cello and Piano

Josh Packard, cello; Travis Schedler, piano

Duration: 12.5 min.

Dedication: for Larry Kludge

Commission: Commissioned by Larry Kludge

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Paradoxes: Sonata for Cello and Piano (1998) was written as a commission from musicologist and cellist Larry Kludge. The conception and inspiration of this sonata had the idea of “paradoxes” behind it. The movement titles present the foundation ideas for each movement, “stillness,” “brevity,” and “movement.”

The first movement, Paradox of Stillness, opens with a statement of the main melodic theme for the work. The melody and pitches of that theme are transformed in a variety of ways throughout. The second section serves as a contrast to the lyrical opening; the initial material which the opening section is recalled again for the close. The brief second movement, Paradox of Brevity, is a fast, energetic movement. Driving rhythms and odd harmonic twists pervade the texture. The final movement, Paradox of Movement, sustains a moto perpetuo dance for most of its duration, with a break in the middle for a brief cadenza for the solo cello.  A brief coda brings back the principal theme of the first movement and brings the piece to a close.