Opus 1259

Overture concertante (2018)

for Organ and Strings (quartet, quintet, or orchestra)

Heinrich Christensen, organ; Julia McKenzie and Katherine Winterstein, violin; Susan Seeber, viola; Colleen McGary-Smith, cello; Scot Fitzsimmons, bass

Carson Cooman, organ; Aaron Levett and Joshua Walden, violins; Alessandra Aquilanti, viola; Stephanie Lai Wu, cello

Duration: 6 min.

Dedication: for Betty and Bill English

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp.

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Overture concertante (2018) is, as the title suggests, an overture with a concerto-like character. The music begins with a slow theme in dotted rhythms in the manner of a traditional baroque overture. The faster music that follows begins first with the organ alone, employing a “basse de trompette” texture (the organ’s trumpet stop sounding in the bass register). This is soon answered by a bright, melodic theme in the strings. The interplay of these three main ideas is developed across the rest of the piece.

Sales items available:

1) Full score, organ part, one set of string parts (quintet): #80101415

2) Extra set of orchestral string parts (8-7-6-5-4): #80101416