Opus 246

Of Ice and Silver Swans (2001)

for Horn and Piano

Hazel Dean Davis, horn; Carson Cooman, piano

Duration: 3.5 min.

Dedication: for Hazel Dean Davis

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Of Ice and Silver Swans (2001) for horn and piano was written for and is dedicated to Hazel Davis. The work is in two sections—the first uses ‘ad libitum’ technique with unsynchronized horn and piano parts. The second fast section presents conflict and resolution of the harmonic material of the first section, driving onward to the conclusion.

For this composer, there has always been some mental connection between the horn and swans—perhaps the arched neck of the animal is reminiscent of the horn’s many curves. This piece is also about winter and specifically the thaw at the end of winter that allows swans to return to the waterways. This is mirrored by the harmonic “thaw” in the music as one set of pitches resolves to another over the course of the piece.