Opus 771

Madrigal (2008)

for Piano

Duration: 3.5 min.

Dedication: for Jeff

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Madrigal (2008) for piano is dedicated to pianist Jeffrey Grossman. The music explores independent textures of two and three voices while traversing the same structural and expressive template three times. In each case, the voices are interleaved in different combinations to produce a different melodic shape. The harmonic patterning is derived from a madrigal of Luca Marenzio (c. 1553–1599).