Opus 591

Lyric Pieces (2004)

for Clarinet and Piano

Angela Occhionero, clarinet and Donna Amato, piano

Duration: 14 min.

Dedication: for Angela Occhionero

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Lyric Pieces (2004) for clarinet and piano is dedicated to clarinetist Angela Occhionero.

The work is a set of short lyrical movements for clarinet and piano. Although they range in character from atmospherically contemplative to joyfully ecstatic, the overall focus of the music is on singing melody. They are arias without words—as if from imaginary operas.

The movements may be played in any combinations or subsets, or in their entirety as a suite.