Opus 863

Lamentoso (2010)

for Trumpet and Piano

Duration: 4.5 min.

Dedication: for Luca Antonucci and Lois Shapiro

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Lamentoso (2010) for trumpet and piano was written for and is dedicated to Luca Antonucci and Lois Shapiro.

The work is marked “rhapsodic, vivid.” It is a “fierce lament” in the tradition of an old Irish “caoine.” The music explores the combination of vivid trumpet sound and strong piano attacks within an extended modal/bitonal harmonic context.