Opus 1163

Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit (2016)

for Baritone, Alto Recorder (or Flute), and Organ

Text of John 16:22 (in German)

Duration: 3 min.

Dedication: für Tre Cantores: Erich Koch, Markus Nickel und Reiner Gaar gewidmet

Publisher: SMP Press

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit (2016) is a meditative setting of John 16:22. It was written for Tre Cantores, three distinguished German church musicians (cantors) who come together to form an ensemble: Erich Koch (baritone), Markus Nickel (recorder), and Reiner Gaar (organ). All three are active composers themselves.

Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit; aber ich will euch wiedersehen und euer Herz soll sich freuen, und eure Freude soll niemand von euch nehmen.

And ye now therefore have sorrow: but I will see you again, and your heart shall rejoice, and your joy no man taketh from you.