Opus 474

Enchanted Pathways: Concerto for Horn and Ensemble (2002)

for Solo Horn and Ensemble

Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Piano, Violin, Cello

Hazel Dean Davis, horn; Harvard Group for New Music; Jonathan Bailey Holland, conductor

Duration: 12 min.

Dedication: for Hazel Dean Davis

Commission: Commissioned by the Broeker Fund for New Music

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Enchanted Pathways: Concerto for Horn and Ensemble (2002) was commissioned by the Broeker Fund for New Music and was written for and is dedicated to Hazel Dean Davis. The work was premiered on April 27, 2003 by Hazel Davis, horn and the Harvard Group for New Music.

The work is cast in one uninterrupted movement, in six sections plus a coda. The basic material for the entire work is presented at the start in an opening flourish by the vibraphone. A horn quasi-cadenza follows which brings the ensemble alive, leading into a fast section. A chorale-like section interrupts—extremely calm and peaceful. Transformations of opening music return before another fast (and manic) section occurs. This winds down into a slow section of “distant recollections”— before a short and ecstatically glittering coda suddenly ends the piece.

The image behind the work sees the horn as an adventurer on a search through a whole series of “enchanted pathways”—traveling through the ensemble and musical material.