Opus 747

Elegia (2007)

for Organ

Duration: 5.75 min.

Dedication: for Nancy Granert, in memory of Craig Smith (1947-2007)

Publisher: Wayne Leupold Editions, Inc. in "Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 6"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Elegia (2007) was composed for and is dedicated Nancy Granert. It was written in memory of conductor Craig Smith (1947–2007). The musical material is based on the elegiac middle movement of my Concerto for Portatif Organ and Strings, written for Nancy Granert in 2006. The combination of this movement’s simple, modal musical ideas—presented in both block and contrapuntal elaborations—are connected to the types of music from the Renaissance, Baroque, and beyond that Craig Smith loved and championed throughout his distinguished career. Elegia is dark and searching in tone. It begins with a full “rageful” shout before quieting down to introduce its basic musical material—a simple “lament” theme in a folk-inflected style. This material is used for further explorations, building to passionate climaxes. Finally, the opening music returns, but this time with a whisper. The movement winds down to a sad conclusion.