Opus 189

Dawn Liturgies (2000)

for Organ

  • Aurora I
  • Lumen in Christo
  • Aurora II

Duration: 8.5 min.

Dedication: for David Cope

Commission: Commissioned by the Northern Lights Music Festival

Publisher: Wayne Leupold Editions, Inc. in "Carson Cooman: Organ Music, Vol. 2"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Dawn Liturgies (2000) was commissioned by the 2000 Northern Lights Music Festival and is dedicated to David Cope. The work is in three movements in contrasting moods. The outer two movements are slow-moving and ethereal and the middle movement is fast and energetic. The middle movement serves as a “reflecting board” for the outer two movements which are musical palindromes of each other. In other words, Aurora II is a “note-for-note” reversal of Aurora I.