Opus 1081

Concertino (2014)

for Organ (opt. pedal)

  • Overture
  • Interlude
  • Canon
  • Toccatina

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 9.5 min.

Dedication: for James Woodman

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Three Concertinos"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Concertino (2014) is dedicated to James Woodman. In the opening Overture, a fast section in mixed meters is framed by a slower introduction and coda. Interlude features a simple modal melody. Canon is a strict example of that form with a lyrical melodic voice. The final Toccatina owes something to the music of Hugo Distler, though with an American harmonic vocabulary.

(This work is designed to be effective on even a small, one manual chamber organ. Varied registrations, multiple manuals, and optional pedal may be used as desired on larger organs.)