Opus 242

Concertino for Three (2001)

for Flute, Oboe, Bassoon

  • Introduction
  • Elegy
  • Scherzo
  • Autumnal Voices

Duration: 6.5 min.

Dedication: for Sally

Commission: Commissioned by Sally Turner

Publisher: Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Concertino for Three (2001) for flute, oboe, and bassoon was commissioned by and is dedicated to flutist Sally Turner.

The work is in four distinct sections which are played through without break. The musical material for the entire work is derived from the flute’s opening gesture.

“Introduction” states the musical material in a number of different forms. “Elegy” uses transformations of the main material and combines the three voices using part-writing techniques derived heavily from early American music. Following this is the unabashedly silly “Scherzo.” The concluding section, “Autumnal Voices,” is wistful—recalling elements of the previous three sections.