Opus 699

Concert Piece: La Tricotea (2006)

for Piano

Duration: 3.75 min.

Dedication: for Jeffrey Grossman

Commission: Commissioned by Jeffrey Grossman

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Concert Piece: La Tricotea (2006) was written for and is dedicated to conductor and pianist Jeffrey Grossman.

The work is a “concert paraphrase” in the tradition of the virtuoso piano literature. Thus it is not a set of traditional variations but rather is a virtuosic elaboration of the source material—with different parts of the piece focusing on and amplifying different elements of the original.

The source material is the anonymous Renaissance Spanish three-part choral motet La Tricotea. In some sources, this motet is attributed to Francisco Alonso. It was originally published a collection entitled Cancionero Musical del Palacio (c. 1490–1520). The text of the motet is primarily in Spanish but includes both elements of other Romance languages and a great deal of gibberish.