Opus 932

Cantus II (Into Unknowing Light) (2011)

for Piano

Duration: 8 min.

Dedication: for Julia, in memory of her mother

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

“But darkness is Light,
That doesn’t know it’s Light yet.”
     — Stuart Saunders Smith

Cantus II (Into Unknowing Light) (2011) for piano was written for and is dedicated to Julia Scott Carey, in memory of her mother, Harriet Stolmeier Carey (1951–2011).

The work is marked “tranquil, yet passionate.” It is a memory space in which a gentle tolling texture pushes the discourse to an enormous climax, before dying away in peace and light.