Opus 1041

Canto e Fugato (2013)

for Organ (manuals only)

  • Canto
  • Fugato

Erik Simmons, organ

Duration: 6 min.

Dedication: for Pamela Ruiter-Feenstra

Publisher: Zimbel Press/Subito Music Corp. in "Cambridgeport Collection"

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Canto e Fugato (2013) is dedicated to Pamela Ruiter-Feenstra. A tranquil first movement is balanced by an energetic second. “Canto” develops entirely from its lyric opening motive. “Fugato” begins with a jaunty theme in a mixed mode that is first developed imitatively in two voices and then heard again with the two voices exchanged. Further treatment passes through several other modal areas before an affirmative conclusion.