Opus 719

Brass Quintet (2007)

for Brass Quintet

Duration: 7 min.

Dedication: for Alan Fletcher

Commission: Commissioned by the Aspen Music Festival

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Brass Quintet (2007) was commissioned by the Aspen Music Festival and is dedicated to composer Alan Fletcher. The piece  is cast in a one-movement, loose sonata form.

The work begins with a lyrical and slow exposition, marked “distant, unfolding.” A horn solo interrupts the lyrical lines, anticipating the development section. The development is faster in pace and jagged in contour, beginning with all five players in interlocking harmonic interplay. Out of this texture, a series of three duos (trumpet/tuba, horn/trombone, and two trumpets) emerge. The final trumpet duo presents the opening lyrical ideas re-cast as a herald fanfare. A brief, slow interlude leads to the recapitulation, marked “excited, relentless.” A series of hocketing ostinati create the backdrop over which the original material returns. Though the music has a very different mood, the structural template is the same as in the exposition. The piece drives forward to its conclusion.