Opus 798

Big Blue House (2008)

for Flugelhorn and Piano

Carol Hall, flugelhorn; Fenton Groden, piano

Duration: 3 min.

Dedication: for David Stock on the occasion of his retirement

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Big Blue House (2008) for flugelhorn and piano is a brief, fun work dedicated to composer David Stock on the occasion of his retirement.

Most flugelhorn pieces exploit the darkly mournful, quietly lyric aspects of the instrument. This piece, however, takes advantage (with a folk-gospel influence) of its energetic capabilities while still employing a number of lyric ideas.