Opus 694

Autumn Sun Canticle (2006)

for Solo Trumpet and Orchestra

Colby Cooman, trumpet; Hochstein Youth Symphony Orchestra; Nancy Stelau, conductor

Duration: 5.25 min.

Dedication: in memory of Bob Stata

Commission: Commissioned by The Commission Project

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Autumn Sun Canticle (2006) for trumpet and orchestra was commissioned by The Commission Project in memory of Bob Stata.  Bob Stata was a jazz bassist and teacher, who died on June 14, 2005 at the age of 52.  (Stata commissioned and directed the premiere of Cooman’s The Great Wilno (1999) for solo piano and wind ensemble.)

This work has an autumnal spirit, but is lyrical and hopeful as well.  An opening aria section leads toward a chorale-like passage.  A development of this material leads towards a passionate and somewhat anguished climax.  The opening aria returns, before an elegiac coda closes the work.