Opus 656

Autumn Sun Canticle (2005)

for Trumpet and Piano

Duration: 5.25 min.

Dedication: in memory of Bob Stata

Commission: Commissioned by The Commission Project

Publisher: Musik Fabrik

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Autumn Sun Canticle (2005) for trumpet and piano was commissioned by The Commission Project in memory of Bob Stata. Bob Stata was a jazz bassist and teacher, who died on June 14, 2005 at the age of 52. (Stata commissioned and directed the premiere of Cooman’s The Great Wilno (1999) for solo piano and wind ensemble.)

Autumn Sun Canticle was premiered by Colby Cooman, trumpet and Carson Cooman, piano on November 19, 2005 at Nazareth College, Rochester, New York—at a memorial concert celebrating the life and music of Bob Stata.

This work has an autumnal spirit, but is lyrical and hopeful as well. An opening aria section leads toward a chorale-like passage. A development of this material leads towards a passionate and somewhat anguished climax. The opening aria returns, before an elegiac coda closes the work.