Opus 1258

Abyss (2018)

for Bass Clarinet and Piano

  • Prayer
  • Totentanz

Duration: 10 min.

Dedication: for Rachael Stutzman Cohen and Katie Palumbo

Contact the composer regarding perusal or performance materials.

Abyss (2018) is dedicated to Rachael Stutzman Cohen and Katie Palumbo. The two movements of the work each explore a rather dark affect, but with contrasting moods. The first movement, “Prayer,” begins with a simple lyric melody and builds in fervor before dying away. The second movement, “Totentanz,” is fast and wild—rushing headlong into the dark.